Meet the Council

Office bearers are elected during Regional and Local Authority Elections, held every five years. These elections are based on the party-list system, where residents vote for the political party of their choice. The participating parties field and rank their candidates for office bearers during the election campaign. Parties designate their top candidates to represent the party on the municipal councils in proportion to their number of seats. The swearing-in of the new office bearers are presided and ratified by a magistrate.

To be a Municipal Councillor does not require any special qualifications, except being on the top 10 list of a political party (that as gained a seat on the council) as well the conviction, dedication and passion to bring about development and upliftment for the benefit of Oranjemund and its residents. The various councillor portfolios (Mayor, deputy mayor etc) are nominated and voted among the office bearers themselves annually. A councillor can therefore be elected as Mayor and may serve in that position for a number of years if he or she is re-elected. These proceedings are carried out during a public council meeting.

In March 2012, Oranjemund Town Council held their first ever Local Authority elections. The municipal council is comprised with seven (7) Local Authority Councilors sworn in at Oranjemund Town Council.

Current Council

His Worship, Hon. Henry Coetzee
Hon. Xungileni Ntinda
Deputy Mayor
Member of MC
Honourable Toivo Auala
Hon. Simeon Angome
Member of MC
Hon Leena Vaile
Member of MC
Hon Lovis Nghishidimwa
Alternate Member of MC
Hon Matheus Kambunga